How do I manage Group Users?

How to carry out all group admin tasks

Written By Rebecca Plumb (Super Administrator)

Updated at May 4th, 2021

1.     Group Admin User Responsibilities

Group Admin Users are responsible for

• Creating new users

• Assigning or un-assigning users to companies

• Editing User Accounts

• Re-sending User Passwords

• Unlocking User Accounts

• Inactivating Users Accounts

• Changing User Profiles

• Changing User Roles

• Managing User Profiles

To carry out any of the above actions, logon to the Group Layer (this will be a 3-5 letter prefix followed by 0000) and click on Group Management.

2.     Creating a New User

To add a new user, click on Group Management>Add Group Users.

Fill in the following fields:

Group User Name: Full user name (ex.: Jack Adams)

Group Logon Name: User login name (ex.: “jadams”)

Group User type: select Accountant, Bookkeeper or Power User*

E-mail: User e-mail

Permissions:

Tick the check boxes to control what admin functions the user will be able to use, all of the following options should be un-ticked except for users requiring admin rights:

Add Client - ticking this will allow users to create new entities and to be able to edit entities (this includes being able to change the entity name, create VAT groups and inactivate the entity)

Manage User Profile - ticking this means that the user will be able to make changes to user profiles for all companies they have been assigned to (See sections 8 and 10)

Activate/Deactivate Clients - ticking this will allow the user to activate or inactivate companies that they have been assigned to

Re-assign Client - this allows the user to assign and un-assign themselves and other users from companies within the group

Manage Entity Users - this allows the user to change user roles and profiles at the company level (see section 9)

The following permissions should be enabled as required by the user

Consolidation Manager - allows the user to access the consolidation manager functions at the group level

User Can Update Exchange Rates Across the Group - allows the user to update exchange rates across the group, where this is enabled in the consolidation manager

User can view only purchase orders that they created - means that the user can only view their own purchase orders, not those created by other users

 *The Group user type is the default profile that a user will have when assigned to a entity. Please note that this is only the default profile, it is possible to assign a different profile at the entity level. So, for example, you could set someone as a bookkeeper at the group level and as report user for a particular entity.

For more information on User Profiles see sections 9 and 10 below.

After clicking on Process, an e-mail will be sent to the new user with instructions to create a new password. Please note the link in this e-mail expires in 48 hours.

If the link expires or the user did not receive the email, it can be re-sent through the Edit Group User function – see section 4 below for details.


3.    Assigning or Un-assigning Users to an Entity

Group users are not able to access any of the companies within the group until they have been assigned to an entity. To do this, go to either:

Group Management>Assign users to Entities

This allows you to pick an entity from the list and assign or un-assign one or more users

Or

Group Management>Reassign Entities to Users

This allows you to pick a user from the list and assign or un-assign to one or more companies


4.    Editing User Accounts

Click on Group Management>Edit Users select the required user from the list.

You can change:

• User Name

• User Type

• Email Address

• Permissions

Make the changes as required and click on process

Please note, it is not possible to change the Group Logon Name. If you need to change this, you will need to deactivate the old ID and create a new logon ID.

It is not possible to use the same email address for more than one user. If you want to change the group logon name, and re-use the email address, you should change the email address in the old logon ID before creating the new ID.

5.    Resend User Password

If a new User does not receive the initial email invitation or needs a password reset, go to Group Management>Edit Group User and click on the link to Send Password reset email to user

6.    Unlock a User Account

User accounts will be locked if a user has entered an incorrect password too many times.

To unlock, go to Group Management>Edit Group User and uncheck the Account Locked checkbox.

When accounts are locked, an email is automatically sent to all group admin users alerting them of this activity.

7.    Inactivate a User

It is not possible to delete a User from the system, to take away access from a User, you need to inactivate the User.

This should be done at the group layer. If you want to prevent a user from accessing a particular entity, you should un-assign the user from the entity as detailed in section 3 above.

To inactivate the user, go to Group Management>Edit Group User and un-check the Activation Status box. Click on Process to save

8.    Change User Profile

To check which profile a user has in a particular entity, at the Group Layer, click on Actions (next to the relevant entity) >Manage Users. Click on the required User Name from the list, the user profile is shown in the User Type drop down list. This can be changed by selecting a new profile and clicking on Process.

9.    Change User Role

There are two types of User Role; User and Admin.

Admin Users are able to:

• Undo a bank Reconciliation

• Change Supplier Bank Account Details

• Set up Approval Workflow

• Re-open closed Periods

Users are created with the default Role of User.

If you need to change the User Role, at the Group Layer, click on Actions (next to the relevant entity) >Manage Users. Click on the required User Name from the list and change the User Role, click on Process to Save.

10.    Manage User Profile

To configure the user profile access for each entity, at the Group Layer, click on Actions (next to the relevant entity) >Maintain Menu Profiles


Here you can enable or restrict access to Menus, Dashboards and Reports within each entity by ticking or un-ticking the boxes for each profile. 

To create a new user profile, enter the profile name in the Add New Profile box and click on Add, select or deselect, menus, dashboards and reports for the new profile and save the changes. 

You can copy profiles from other entities within the group and switch between entities within the Manage Menu Profile screen.

For further information on Menu Profiles click here 


11.    Creating Additional Admin Users

Admin users are able to add and edit group users. To create a new admin user, create a user as detailed in step 2 above.

Then click on Group Management>Edit Group User and update the Group User Type to Practice Administrator

When you change the user type, you must un-assign the user from all companies and re-assign (step 3 above) for the changes to take effect. 

Un-assigning and re-assigning a user will remove all reports saved as favourites, so you may want to ask users to make a notes of any saved reports before making the change.

Please note this Group User type is not available from the add group user screen, you must create a new user, then edit them to become an administrator.

Take care to set the permissions correctly when promoting a user to administrator, as the permissions become locked at this point and can not be amended.

12. Removing Admin Rights from a User

One a user has been promoted to the Group User Type "Practice Administrator", it is not possible to take away administration rights or amend permission of an admin user, these will appear as grey and locked for editing.

If you need to do this, follow the steps below from the Group Management>Edit Users screen:


  1. Change the email address associated with the current user (this will allow you to set up the new account using the correct email address, we recommend prefixing the current email address with "xxx")
  2. Inactivate the current user 
  3. Set up a new account with the required User Type and Permissions